asfenengine.blogg.se

Macbook 2006 model number
Macbook 2006 model number






macbook 2006 model number
  1. Macbook 2006 model number mac os x#
  2. Macbook 2006 model number install#
  3. Macbook 2006 model number 64 Bit#
  4. Macbook 2006 model number update#
  5. Macbook 2006 model number 32 bit#

While Mac OS X will make use of more RAM if you have it, I think Yosemite is actually better in 2GB than any version before it. There's a lot of improvement in memory management (seemingly inherited from iOS), evidenced by the fact that you actually get memory back when you quit apps (it will even remove swap files without needing a restart). OTOH my current MBA is the 2010 Core 2 Duo model, with only 2GB RAM, and I have Yosemite running on it. After that we'll retire the old MBP completely.

macbook 2006 model number

I'm holding out for new MacBook Air models so I can upgrade and hand my current Air over to my wife. Posted by mosk at 9:22 AM on FebruĪs a fellow owner of a Core Duo MBP, I'm gonna pile right on with everybody else: that's not an officially supported model for Yosemite (or even Mavericks) and if you need the new OS, you need new hardware. That's OK, because with the limited RAM you have, the resulting machine would be very frustrating to use. Unfortunately, as others have said your MBP is really not able to go down this path. These machines are good candidates because a) you can upgrade the RAM well beyond 4GB, and b) you can swap out video cards as necessary to find ones with more 10.10 friendly drivers. Long story short: my son's iMac is staying on 10.6.8, and we're OK with that.Īlthough people have installed Yosemite on several older Core 2 Duo models (that's Core 2 Duos, not Core Duos), the C2Ds that are really viable choices are the earliest Mac Pros: Mac Pro 1,1 and Mac Pro 2,1.

Macbook 2006 model number install#

Posted by emptythought at 10:17 PM on FebruĪgreeing with all of the above: it simply won't work on your hardware.įWIW, I spent part of last week trying to upgrade my son's Core 2 Duo iMac to Yosemite, and even after reading up on the various hacks and trying increasingly more radical approaches (including repartitioning the HD into two partitions and attempting the install from the second one), I couldn't get it to run the Yosemite installer at all. 3-400 will get you something that will be great for another 3-4 years at least, especially if you buy the newest used machine you can find(2011 macbook pro 13s are getting quite cheap, for instance). That doesn't have to be a wildly expensive machine though. But know that your upgrade path, at this point, is 'buy a new machine'. If it does what you want, keep using it as it is. I not only think this machine isn't worth upgrading hardware wise from a monetary standpoint, but it's also impossible to do what you want with it.įor what it's worth, i still use a 2007 imac as my desktop. For another $150, you could get a much newer mac that will officially run yosemite and be a lot nicer(2010 unibody white macbook, 2009 13in macbook pro, hell i've seen several 2009 15 inchers go for that much). My laptop is working fine and I have no plans to buy a new computer unless I absolutely have to. The CPU is soldered in on the macbook pro. This sort of hackery worked on imacs with socketed CPUs you could swap.

Macbook 2006 model number 32 bit#

There is no hack for this, the above solutions mentioned are for the weird 32 bit EFI/64 bit CPU machines.

Macbook 2006 model number 64 Bit#

There is no way to install yosemite, or even mavericks, since it has a 64 bit kernel. Note that the core duo 'yonah' CPU in these machines is not a 64 bit chip. I wouldn't spend money on(now overpriced) DDR2. That model truly, not just spec sheet as with some macs, maxes out at 2gb of ram. The newer/later versions of OSX, starting with lion, either sucked(lion), or were optimized for SSDs and newer hardware. I'm speaking from experience with lots of similar hardware. You don't want to install a newer OS on this machine. Thanks! posted by fozzie_bear to Technology (20 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite Will I be able to achieve my goals with the Crucial memory upgrade or do I need to do something else? If so, what would that be?

macbook 2006 model number

Here’s the underside of my laptop and here's where I assume I switch out the memory (please correct me if I am wrong).Īlso, I have Microsoft Office:Mac 2011 and do not want to have to buy an upgrade. Would the 2GB DDR2 PC2-5300 Unbuffered NON-ECC 1.8V 256Meg x 64 Soooo, if I buy some memory from Crucial I’ll be able to install it myself and everything will be dandy, right? When I enter my model I get these recommendations.

Macbook 2006 model number update#

I’d like to update to Yosemite and it looks like I need 2 GB of memory and 8 GB of available storage. My hard drive capacity is 79.68 GB with 38.76 GB available storage. I’m running OS X 10.6.8, processor is 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, and memory is 1.5 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. However, I can no longer upgrade the OS, which is starting to be a problem.








Macbook 2006 model number